Baker Shield - Holohan RowleyThe Blacks have won the Baker Shield with a dominant display of football at St Peters on Saturday.

The Cs led the charge with a 3-2 win, before a Blacks’ goal was disallowed in the 0-0 Reserves draw. The first team capped off a successful day with a 2-0 win, with Ryan Lewis and Adrian Leet finding the back of the net.

The two wins and a draw (a 7-1 point aggregate) mean that the Blacks obtain the Baker Shield for the first time since its commission in 2012.

The 2014 shield will be contested at University Ovals.


Premier Men

[tb_match id=”3167″]

Reserves Men

[tb_match id=”3166″]

Division 6 Men (C)

[tb_match id=”3188″]

Results could affect final league positions, but St Peters and Adelaide University have further incentive to win this weekend with the Baker Shield on offer.

The annual trophy recognises the contributions of current AUSC Premier Men’s coach Dave Baker to both clubs. St Peters (SPOC) are the current holders of the shield.

The Baker Shield was commissioned by AUSC Vice-President Kevin Holohan and SPOC chairman Luke Rowley in 2012.

Baker was senior coach at SPOC for four years and took the boys in blue and white to a Div1A championship (undefeated in league season), Cup Semi Final, Runner Up in the Champion of Champions in 2006 and Runner Up in the Div1A in 2008.

Baker left SPOC to coach at AUSC in 2010. A number of players who have played for SPOC have also played for AUSC and vice versa and the shield recognises this close association and also respects the long competitive history the clubs have had over the years.

The format of the competition is as follows – results from the As, Bs and Cs all count towards the shield